something delicious for the superbowl

6 Feb

Today Jack and I are headed out to my parents’ for a little Superbowl shindig. We were asked to bring some kind of appetizer. My parents always make awesome food, and Jack and I love good food, so I wanted to make something simple but super scrumptious. I had some Pilsbury crescent dough in my fridge that I mistakenly bought for monkey bread (turns out you’re supposed to use the biscuits for that). So I searched the perfect recipe but nothing really made my mouth water. Finally after an hour of searching recipes all over the web, I decided to just make something up. Turns out that was the best idea ever! I’m sure this isn’t the most original recipe but it sure is yummy! I made these tasty morsels in about 45 min. Recipe and photo after the cut!

sausage and onion crescent pockets

Here’s the recipe if you want to try it yourself. Be warned: I had a hard time not eating these all by myself before we even got to our destination!

  • 2 packages Pilsbury crescent roll dough sheets, or the regular crescent rolls with the seams pinched together.
  • 1 package Jimmy Dean hot pork sausage
  • 1/2 med sweet onion finely chopped
  • approx 1/4 tablespoon butter
  • pinch of salt (optional)
  1. Pre-heat oven to 375°
  2. Heat the butter in a large skillet on medium heat until it begins to bubble
  3. Add onion and sauté until tender and they start to turn translucent
  4. Add sausage and cook until heated through and there is no pink remaining
  5. Remove mixture from burner and set aside
  6. Remove dough from tube and unroll
  7. Cut each sheet into 12 triangles, they don’t have to be perfect
  8. Fill each triangle with about 1 tablespoon full of filling, then fold corners in and press lightly to seal
  9. Place your tasty pockets on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 min until light golden brown
  10. Let cool on the cookie sheet and remove to plate once they’re cool enough to handle
  11. OM NOM NOM!

Ta-da! Quick and easy savory appetizers for any time! They’re great hot or room temp, which makes them great for travel. I think these might be my new go-to. I ended up with some leftover filling, so you can probably use a third can of dough if you need to make more than 24 pockets. I haven’t quite decided what to do with the extra filling, but I have a feeling it will be super tasty on some toast with fried eggs. I’m so healthy, eh?

Leave a Reply

