finally…some photographs!

31 Jan

I took some time this weekend to photograph the remaining items I had leftover from the Hartbeat Market along with some new things I made when I had a few free moments. I also re-shot some of my older pieces that were poorly represented the first time I photographed them.

What I learned this weekend with my point-and-shoot (Canon powershot 8 megapixel)

  • The picture window in my living room is an awesome source of natural light (since I don’t have a photo “booth” set up)
  • Setting my camera to “cloudy” even when it’s sunny outside works great for getting a warmer tone when I’m shooting indoors with natural light – otherwise everything looks sort of blue
  • A slightly brighter exposure (+1/3) helps get a more accurate color representation of my pieces.

Jack and I went antiquing this weekend too, and found this amazing encyclopedia of cultivated orchids for $2!! It’s become my go-to book for shooting items (in addition to teaching me tons of stuff I didn’t know about my favorite plants).

Here’s a peek at some of the stuff going up for sale this week:turquoise and silver bracelet

turquoise and sterling silver

silver moon earrings

sterling silver and swarovski crystals (pair them with this bracelet)

sterling and stones bracelet

sterling and various glass beads & natural stones

lava earrings

handmade glass beads with amber and sterling silver

2 Responses to “finally…some photographs!”

  1. nikkisnature January 31, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    Beautiful pictures- and I love antique books, too.

    • kixxster January 31, 2011 at 10:10 am #

      Thanks! Jack collects antique engineering books, so I was using those until now 🙂 We’ve got quite a bookcase!

Leave a Reply

