being your own boss is hard!

17 Jan

First post of the new year! I’m starting to get back into the swing of things…look out world! I’ve got some new supplies and some new ideas brewing, so in the meantime I will share my perspective on social marking and starting your own business.

Well, I’ve been making jewelry for profit as a side job for just about 6 months. It seems so much longer than that! I’ve been investing in an online presence for the last 4 months or so, via facebook and twitter. I don’t know about anyone else, but it seems to me that there’s a fine line between marketing yourself on social networks, and annoying the hell out of your friends. I’ve been trying to separate my business posts from my personal accounts as much as possible, but I also want to gain new clients so I have to bug everyone once in a while. What’s the best way to market to those on your friend list who don’t already know about what you’re up to without turning off those who do? I’m also trying to figure out the best way to gain new followers on my business account. I just have to keep reminding myself that it took awhile to gain the (albeit small) following I have on my personal account, so it will take some time before I gain at least that much on my business profile. But things have been looking up lately.

In trying to gain a following, I’m trying to figure out what is the most valuable information to put out there. I often times find myself retweeting others because I haven’t got a lot of DIY knowledge yet that isn’t better said by someone else. What do you like to see from other crafters? Most of the other independent artists I follow generally post about a new product that’s up or a new blog post. Is that all we need? So far, my conclusion is maybe. Leave it to the big guys like Smashing Magazine and Design Sponge to post all the really great and helpful compilations. Once you have a decent following that will actually respond to tweets or blog posts – and you can start a dialogue – then you’re getting somewhere!

How often is too often? There are days when I write 3 or 4 posts on completely separate topics. I suppose that’s what scheduling is for. Write them all, then post them up at different times. It helps keep your blog fresh even when you’re too busy to write anything new. There are also times when I feel like I don’t have anything at all to write about; another reason to write everything and schedule it later!

Leave a Reply

